KPMG opens new office in Suzhou, 26th in Greater China

24 July 2020 2 min. read
More news on

Professional services giant KPMG has opened a new office in Suzhou, its 26th in Greater China.

The new hub in the city of Suzhou, based in the eastern-central coastal province of Jiangsu, was formally inaugurated in June by a cohort of leaders, including William Gong, vice chairman of KPMG China, and Wu Qingwen, secretary of the Suzhou Industrial Park Working Committee. Gong and Qingwen had previously met in the first quarter of this year to discuss and refine the details of the cooperation. 

The Suzhou Industrial Park was founded in 1994 when the governments of China and Singapore agreed to co-develop a new, modern industrial park in the east of Suzhou. Today, the park covers an area of 80 square kilometres and is one of the region’s most important economic and industrial centres. KPMG opens new office in Suzhou, 26th in Greater ChinaKPMG’s three main rivals – DeloitteEY and PwC – already were bases in the park, with KPMG now completing the quartet’s presence. KPMG’s office is expected to house over 400 employees by the end of the year, and will provide the full suite of the firm’s offerings, spanning audit, tax, financial advisory and consulting services. 

Honson To, Chairman of KPMG China said: “KPMG will leverage its full service portfolio and global resources to help Suzhou develop key industries, turn into an industrial centre and help companies in the region with improving their performance and innovation.”

During the opening ceremony, Lan Shaomin, a political leader of Suzhou, welcomed KPMG’s new office, saying that attracting the likes of a high-profile company such as KPMG will be beneficial to the wider business community. Meanwhile, Qingwen pledged on behalf of the local authorities to give KPMG full support as its ramps up its operations.

Across China, KPMG has around 12,000 partners and staff, working from 26 offices across 24 cities. Its largest offices are in among others Beijing, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenzhen, Wuhan and Hong Kong.